• Home
  • Ross Narghang Award

Ross Narghang Award

MACCA LeadersThis award is named after and honors the first MACCA President’s (1970) outstanding service and dedication to our community. As the most prestigious award presented by MACCA, it is a special recognition and appreciation award granted to the MACCA President for dedicated leadership, commitment, and enhancement of the MACCA Mission.

2016 Recipient ~ Karl Martz

Karl has worked in the Career Services/Career Development field since 1977—yes, that’s a total of 39 years! He currently serves as the Associate Director of Career Development, and Student Services at the Harrisburg campus of Penn State University. He has an M.Ed. in Training and Development with an emphasis on Career Development/Counseling from Penn State University and a B.A. In Political Science from Texas Lutheran University. 

Karl attended his first MACCA conference in the fall of 1978, and from the start was a regular volunteer at the conferences.

Karl has served on the MACCA Board for the past ten years after being recruited to be co-chair of the Evaluations Committee. He assumed the role of Chair the following year, and held that position until two years ago when he took on the role of President-elect/Vice-President. 

 Additionally he has served on the technology committee, been a conference volunteer, and is MACCA's resident photographer.

In 2014 Karl was awarded MACCA’s Member of the Year Award and the Goodwill Ambassador Award.  He’s also received Eastern ACE’s Outstanding Achievement Award, the Penn State Harrisburg People to Watch and Alumni Achievement Awards, and the University Staff Service Award.

In addition to Karl’s many leadership roles and involvement in career development  professional organizations, he is active and passionate in mentoring new professionals, interns and graduates assistants; sharing his vast knowledge and experience in the Career Development field to help develop our future leaders and practitioners.

Currently Karl serves as the Immediate Past President of MACCA.

Previous Recipients

  • Gemma Costa (2015)
  • Shahrzad Arasteh (2014)
  • Connie Egelman (2013)
  • Connie Egelman (2012)
  • Nancy Fink (2011)
  • Jill Gugino (2010)
  • Cristina Damiao (2009)
  • Flora Stowe and Cristina Damiao (2008)
  • Rose Howard (2007)
  • Joyce Henderson (2004)
  • Jane Gregiore (2003)
  • Steve Sciscione (2002)
  • Daphne Chang (2001)

Copyright © 2016

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software